California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
10/28/09, 11:47 am

Legal Question


1) We were inspecting the building plans of our house page by page and found a major discrepancy. There is a FAR restriction that sets the maximum floor area to be 4350 sq ft. The building plans show the area to be 4349.5 sq ft. The plan was used to obtain permission from the county. Now we found something interesting. There is an approx. 114 sq ft size of office space just outside the master bedroom. None of the plans show this part of the floor and this is clearly not included as part of the total floor area in the calculation. (In fact, the plan explicitly states that no floor area exists in that particular space. We had an architect friend check and confirm that for us.)

Interestingly, when the house was finally constructed, the office space was included, along with hardwood flooring, granite table tops, and an air vent in the ceiling.

This seems a deliberate misrepresentation to the county to clear the FAR restriction and get approval. Once approval was obtained, the office space was built outside of the approved plans.

(In a smaller, possibly privately drawn engineering plan, dated BEFORE the county permission was obtained, the office space is shown clearly, which shows an intent to build the office space.)

2) In the building permit document approved by the county, the garage size is listed as 450 sq ft. However the building plan (which also has the county stamp) shows the garage size to be 605 sq ft and the actual size (as we measured) comes to approx. 620-640 sq ft. This is a huge discrepancy.

In both points above, there seems to be some collusion between the sellers, the county and the architect on how this approval was obtained, but we are not sure of the details.

Question: (1) What are possible ramifications of the above? This house is a new construction. (2) Can the architect and the county be held responsible along with the sellers in a case like this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search