California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/22/09, 5:04 pm

Legal Question


is an Attorney a Party to an Action?

When filling out 'Proof of Service by First Class Mail - Civil' to comply with filing rules, the form states that the person signing off on it cannot be a ''party to the action''.

Does that mean that an attorney representing the defendant in a case cannot submit the form? It would seem that an attorney is not a party to the case, but I can't find a rule to alleviate this concern.

Thank you for any clarification!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search