California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/09/03, 10:41 am

Legal Question


Automobile Accident Lawsuit

My 18 year old daughter was driving with her 2 friends on the highway on a rainy night. She somehow hit a tree branch, and caused the tire to burst. A year and 1/2 later, her 2 friends have now filed a lawsuit naming me and my daughter as the defendants. I had transferred ownership of the car 2 months prior to the accident (DMV records can verify this). My daughter was 18 years old at the time of the accident, and she was not living in my home. The only thing that I was providing for her was insurance coverage for the car. Am I indeed a party to this lawsuit, merely because I was providing insurance coverage? I have been served a ''summons citation'', and have responded with a letter explaining these facts.

Thank you for your assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search