California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
CA Civil Code 1812.80-1812.85 contract issue
We think we are on track with the right thing to do here, but want confirmation. Our USMC legal office is totally useless on this... we signed a contract for martial arts training. A few months later, the instructor sold the school to a relative. Their plan was that all the students' contracts were part of the sale and transferred to the new owner. The original instructor offered to continue teaching us at a new location, with new hours, new everything. There was no new contract. It is our understanding that under the civil code that covers health studio services, that when he made the sale, changed the amount of training, hours, etc that the original contract with him was voided and we would have needed to sign a new contract. Is that correct? Also, he is demanding the money for members of our family that we didn't sign contracts for. 5 of us trained, but we only signed contracts for 2. I printed the civil code and wrote a letter with a settlement offer of tuition that we used and were a month behind on. That's all we feel we owe. He drastically cut the hours of training and days per week from 5 days/wk to 2 days/wk. Per day it went from 4 classes to 1 class time. We have no contract lawyer at our base legal office. Please help!


