California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
California Small Calims Court
Can I sue in small claims court in California, rather than Oregon, against a car/trailer dealership in Oregon that uses the internet for it's sales? The payment was made at a bank in California.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gordon Fauth |
Re: California Small Calims Court Maybe. But be wary of any contracts you executed and will show the court that say claims must be filed in Oregon, etc. If you bring the case in California, in your papers, you should emphasize that the defendant contacted you in California--i.e., used web site and Internet to market its sevices to you in California, conversed with you via telephone in California (if did), you entered into an agreement in California and made payment in California (if did). You may be able to avoid showing the court any evidence against California jurisdiction, and can wait for them to raise that, if they appear. Depending on what happened, you probably want a claim for violation of Business and Professions Code 17200 et seq.--very broad and reaches to most unlawful, unfair, or deceptive business practices. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


