California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
10/31/03, 8:14 pm

Legal Question


The City of ... is requiring waiver be signed before reimbursement, Part of it

In short, the city, where my grandparents live, installed a catch basin for nuisance water. Power for the pump was wired through my grandparents electrical box, thus creating energy costs for them. To get reimbursed, a waiver must be signed. This is fine; however, the following paragraph includes phrasing that seems general, vague, etc.

Now therefore at the request of Jack & Jill Smith and on behalf of their heirs and successors of the property located at 198 Up The Hill and in consideration of the sum of $500 (Five hundred dollars), the receipt is hereby acknowledged, the undersigned hereby releases and cancels any and all claims against the City of .... and acknowledges reimbursement in full.

I am not ok with the ''hereby releases and cancels any and all claims against the City of...'' Too vague. Suggestions on rephrasing it so that it's issue specific. To me it sounds like it could pertain to any future issues not just future issues regarding the catch basin and pump. I do not want my grandparents to sign until I have the ''City'' rephrase it, but I need assistance.

I thank you very, very much, and my grandparents thank you very, very much for your help. I love this website! It's an invaluable resource.

Carolyn


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search