California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
can a default judgment be reversed in a civil case if the defendant was too disabled to participate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Aryeh Leichter |
Yes. Under Code of Civil Procedure section 473(b), a court may relieve a party from default judgment taken against him through his mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect. You're disability may constitute excusable neglect.
You must file a motion to be relieved from default judgment within a reasonable amount of time but in no case more than 6 months after the date of default. The motion must be accompanied by an answer or other responsive pleading.
Ari
________________ Aryeh Leichter Leichter Law Firm 3580 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1745 Los Angeles, CA 90010 Phone: (213) 381-6557 Fax: (888) 801-6629 LeichterLaw@gmail.com www.leichterlawfirm.com |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


