California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
what is the definition of a "business record" in a subpoena duces tecum and how would it apply to a police department.? Would an incident report involving a non-party to the suit be a "business record"?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
As a document created for the activities of the buiness of law enforcement and kept in the normal course of the entity's business activities, an incident report should qualify as a business record. But a record about someone unrelated to the case has no relevancy to the case so the police duld move to quash the subpoena. Those records are also probably confidential so it would have to be proven first that the records are relevant. If you wanted to impeach a witness at trial with a police report saying that they had stopped him, a judge would rule that it is inadmissible as being irrelevant, to prejudical to allow in, etc. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


