California | Civil Litigation
7/15/00, 1:15 pm
Legal Question
Depositions
Is it necessary for both side to be present at deposition hearings?
Depositions
Is it necessary for both side to be present at deposition hearings?
|
Read More Answered By: John Ferry |
Re: Depositions By definition, both parties will have to be there, assuming that one party has noticed the deposition of the other. If, however, the witness is a third party, it is not required that a party other than the one who noticed the deposition be present, however, there is a consequence. You will: (1) miss out on the opportunity to ask questions of the witness, (2) not be able to object to any of the questions or answers which might subsequently be used in court and (3) unless you have a very good reason for not being present, you will not be able to question that witness at a later date. |
|
Read More Answered By: Benjamin Pavone |
Re: Depositions No. Only the attorney (or party) noticing the deposition and the witness need attend. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► Small claims hostage my question concerns a small claims action against me for an...
► Potential law suit?? my wife and i have just returned from vacation where we went to...
► Aparatment (Put security Deposit for) not available We were going to move to another...
► Taking an airline to small claims court. I am looking to recover the cost of airline...
► Extent of liability for property damage by minor child To what extent am I liable...
► Unrequested Services by Vetrinarian My equine vetrinarian performed $800+ worth of...
► Documenting payment for dog bite My dog bit a neighbor who has asked for...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press