California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/16/09, 12:29 am

Legal Question


Desperately need legal advice. My ex-boyfriend owes me $7500. We have a written binding agreement/contract that states he is financially liable for all sums charged to my credit card which he used to purchase product for his business. He tells me that he will pay me off, but that he doesn't have the money right now since his business went under, so he is unemployed. I've been contacting him to request he pay me off, but he says he has no money; furthermore, he once threatened me that I couldn't do anything about it. He told me that it would be pointless to sue him and take him to court because he has no assets and nothing to pay me off, so I wouldn't collect anything. What can I do? What are my options?


question bubble
11/21/09, 1:01 am

Legal Answer


So how does he live? Obviously he has some money, it just that he chooses not to pay you. Tell him he needs to start making payments or you will have to sue him.. If he persists, then sue him and get a judgment against him. If he still won't make payments start collection proceedings.

Start with an order of examination where he will have to disclose his assets under oath, and then levy on his bank accounts or garnish his wages where ever he works.

Hope this helps and good luck.

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 1:04 am

Legal Answer


Not much. A written contact can be sued upon for only 4 years. You need to sue him and get a judgment, or get him to agree to a stipulated judgment.

George Shers

Law Offices of Georges H. Shers 4170 Glenwood Terrace, Suite #1 Union City, CA 94587

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 2:18 am

Legal Answer


Small Claims.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 2:35 pm

Legal Answer


The Small Claims Division of your local California Superior Court is the best option given that you are only seeking $7,500. In fact, $7,500 is the jurisdictional limit for bringing a small claim against an individual.

An attorney cannot represent you at the small claims hearing (there is no trial per se), but an attorney can assist you with preparing for the hearing so that you make the best case possible.

If you are successful in obtaining a favorable judgment at the hearing, then you need to start the task of executing on that judgment, which may include all or some of the following: garnishing wages once he has employment, levying on assets such as bank accounts, or selling your judgment to a collections company for a percentage of the full judgment amount.

Small claims court is very inexpensive. I think it’s $75 to file a small claim complaint. And there would be $100 or so in fees for post-judgment motions and filings.

Shanen Prout

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search