California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Duplicate Title
I bought a car with my daughter from Carmax and the title/lien had both of our names on it with an ''or''. After a month, we agreed that I would pay off the loan and transfer the car into my name since she couldn't afford it. While the DMV is processing my title transfer, she takes the car back to Carmax and sells it, takes the money and moves out of state without telling me. Last week I get the new title which is in my name only, and then learn what she has done. I contact the police to find out what is going on and they tell me the car is pending a new owner per DMV records. I contact Carmax and they said they already sold my car. Carmax tells me they bought the car because my daughter's name was on her duplicate title and didn't realize the title was getting transferred into my name. They told me I am out of luck. Is this true? I spent $8.6k for this car.


