California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
ex-roommates owe me money
I rented a house with 3 other people in July. I withdrew $1175 for the deposit, $1175 for the 1st month and $140 for the credit checks(we each owed $620),which I gave in cash to the rental agency. One roommate agreed to pay me his share and one other share ($1240) and the other his part ($620)-I have witnesses to this. I never ended up signing the lease because I was out of town (my name was forged on the lease w/o my permission). I ended up moving out about 2 weeks after I paid all that money due to my roommates drinking excessively, starting fights and destroying the house. The rental agency allowed me to move out becasue I had not signed the lease. One roommate gave me $200 in cash the day I left and the other roommate gave me a check for $300(wasn't signed so didn't go through) and a check for $100(he stopped payment on it). I have both checks. So, they started to pay me but then decided to stop because they were angry that I had moved out. Do I have a case and how do I go about getting the money back? Thank you.


