California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
12/19/04, 2:06 pm

Legal Question


Can I file a counterclaim?

I was in an accident where I was at a stop light waiting to make a right hand turn going east. It was a rainy Saturday afternoon so there was some traffic. The light was red. there was no ''No Turn On Red'' sign posted. When the light change, I proceeded to make my turn when I was struck by a truck, which I believe ran their red light exceeding the speed limit, from the eastbound traffic. I was cited for an unsafe turn. My citation was later dismissed. Now I am being sued for negligence. I would like to know if I can file a counterclaim for contributory negligence.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search