California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/15/09, 7:56 pm

Legal Question


I am filling out a Civil Subpoena (Duces Tecum) for personal appearance and production of documents and things at trial or hearing and declaration. I am trying to figure out who signs the first page above Signature of Issuing Subpoena. Is it the person actually physically serving the plantiff or the defendant ?


question bubble
11/20/09, 8:18 pm

Legal Answer


That is signed by the officer of the court issuing the subpoena. The persons authorized to issue subpoenas are judges, court commissioners, arbitrators, and attorneys admitted to practice in California. There may be others, but those are the only ones I can remember off the top of my head. In most cases it is the attorney who will be calling the witness who issues the subpoena.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search