California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
knowing my rights when it comes to a loan from my parents
do my parents have the right to hold my keys from me and keep me from using my truck if they loaned me money to get it out of repo if I am making payments to them?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: knowing my rights when it comes to a loan from my parents Hello!
Are you a minor, under 18? If so, they rule.
Is the truck solely in your name with DMV registration and if you are over 18, you rule. That would be the law.
BUT-----I think you really need to talk with your parents. You probably really need dialogue and not a lawyer.
Try a sit down with your folks, they sound like they are pretty decent people and it sounds like you have not been too cool with them about money. It sounds like you have not been too cool with yourself or your creditors about money as well.
If there is a dynamic [other than non payment] that caused you to be less than responsible with money, then that is a problem that you could address with your parents as well.
Think about your relationships and then do the right thing. I believe throwing the lawyer card onto the table is probably nor too swift a move for you. Communication is key. Use that key!
Regards,
Mark Mitchell Geyer |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


