California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/15/09, 11:35 am

Legal Question


What, and where, exactly is the law in California that dictates that food, once 'left out, is unusable for consumption by others?

I live witha roommate who had waffles this morning. Fine. There were 3 he didn't even make (then why did they have syrup on them). I kept him from putting the waffles back in the freezer. I am somewhat touchy on this subject. I once owned a third of a drinking and eating establishment in Eugene, OR. Best burgers anywhere. I still stand by that.


question bubble
11/20/09, 1:15 pm

Legal Answer


There is no such law. There are health regulations that might apply if you were talking about a commercial establishment, but not to roommates.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 1:46 am

Legal Answer


It depends on the context. There are laws here similar to the ones you would have been familiar with when you ran your restaurant in Oregon regarding food but that would be in commercial context. In your situation there are no such laws.

So why didn't you let him put his waffles back in the freezer again? What was the name of your burger joint by the way? Perhaps you should consider getting a new roommate too.

Hope that helps, and good luck

.

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search