California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Can a really low settlement be accepted?
I was involved in a civil case(which i should never have been included in) where the plaintiff was seeking $5million for damages. There were several defendents named in the suit and one of the defendants settled for $100,000(from insurance company who didn't even fight the case) and now since the plaintiff has received the $100,000 there are rumors that they are willing to let one of the defendants off for only $1,500. Another defendant declared bankruptcy and the plaintiff also made an offer of not fighting it in bankruptcy court for $1,500. Fortunately for me I got dismissed because there was no evidence found against me but still lost out on several thousands of dollars in legal fees. Is this legal? I was dismissed with prejudice. Does that mean that I can not sue the plaintiff for legal fees? Thanks


