California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
motion to lift an automatic stay
what are my options if a creditor moves for a motion to lift an automatic stay
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Judith Deming |
Re: motion to lift an automatic stay It depends upon what chapter you filed under and the grounds the creditor cites for relief from stay. A common ground is that the creditor is a secured creditor and has not been paid. An example is where you are behind on your home loan payments and the lender wants relief from stay to start or continue with a foreclosure. If you are in chapter 7, the lender will likely prevail unless you can show that you have made all the payments. If you are in chapter 13, you would have to show that you have equity and that you have an approved plan to catch up the past due payments, or it is likely the court will lift the stay. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


