California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/18/07, 11:33 pm

Legal Question


Neighbor problem

My neighbor has vandalized my hedge twice. What are my legal rights? The first time she complained that she could no longer see the jasmine in my hedge because I'd planted trumpet vines and Mandavilla too. I explained that the reason she couldn't see the jasmine is because it wasn't blooming yet and that each of the flowers bloomed in different times of the year. While I was away in '04 she entered my yard and tried to kill the plants other than jasmine. It killed the whole hedge. It took me a week, a dumpster and a lot of backbraking labor to haul away 100 feet of hedge. She came over and apologized said it was an accident. This year I replanted my jasmine hedge and in addition a grape vine so it would more quickly cover my fence. 2 weeks ago I heard her telling guests on the patio that she was having trouble with the ''gringos'', the hedge was supposed to be all Jasmine. The next day while I was picking vegtables in my garden, I saw through the slats of the fence, her standing and watching as her husband dug on their side of the fence 1 foot from my grapevine. The following day it started to die along with the surrounding hedge. I am at my wits end. The racial slur bothers me the worst.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search