California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/11/04, 3:19 pm

Legal Question


Neighbor's tree on our house!

A few days ago a tree on our neighbor's property fell over, broke the fence and is now resting on the corner of our roof. Some type of power line is caught under it. My husband spoke to the neighbor who said he'll try to figure something out, but this guy is a real jerk and I'm sure he's never going to fix this. We don't know what to do. How do we make him do something? He should have had a tree removal service out here by now. Do I get my insurance company involved? I'm nervous about doing that in California. It's a good way to get cancelled. Do I file some type of complaint? Do I send him a letter? (I already know that it won't work, he'll ingnore it.) How much time is reasonable for him to do something about this? I have kids and feel that this is a dangerous situation. Someone told me to file a claim with my insurance company and let them fight it out with the homeowner. There doesn't appear to be any damage to our roof. Please help! We don't know any attorneys and really do not know how to proceed. Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search