California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
nominal defendant of a lawsuit
My adult child was served a summons and is named as a 'nominal defendant' along with his half-brother. It is a medical and general negligence complaint brought about by their deceased fathers wife against a hospital, doctors and others. My child was estranged from his father and not aware of his fathers death for more than a year after the fact. What is a 'nominal defendant' and why would my child and his half-brother be named in this lawsuit? Does my child have to respond to the summons? Can we ignore it or should we seek legal representation? Thank you from a concerned Mom.


