California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
3/09/10, 8:42 am

Legal Question


I obtained an attorney to defend me against Medical Marijuana charges. I have a written contract with him that says he would return $3,000 to me, half of the retainer, if my case settled before trial. When it came time for trial we were prepared, but the prosecutor (never having a case in my opinion) asked to dismiss the case as the had no evidence to the contrary that I am a Medical Marijuana patient.

My attorney congratulated me, and went our separate ways. However, two days later I call and ask would I be due this refund. He explained he would only give back half $1,500 as he spent a lot of time preparing and was prepared for trial. In the retainer it says that all that is included now he is charging me for something he had to do anyway to be prepared. Please advise if I should file a civil claim to get my monies owed? Could he sour my name at my job with revealing my case to my employer, even though I was innocent?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search