California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
6/04/07, 2:02 pm

Legal Question


Personal Property Sale vs. Commercial sales

I'm a defendent in a lawsuit. I sold a personal property item that i had for 20 years. The Plaintiff claims i am in business selling used parts. I am not part of any business selling any kind of parts. The item was purchased for $12,100 (not a motor vehicle) and payment was made in my name. The suit is for that amount. Their attorney claims breach of contract under California Commercial Code.

Shouldn't California Civil Code 1624.5. apply (a) Except in the cases described in subdivision (b), a

contract for the sale of personal property is not enforceable by way

of action or defense beyond five thousand dollars ($5,000) in amount

or value of remedy unless there is some record. This was an oral agreement and they do not have a written contract or my signature.

How does the court determine which code applies? Since their complaint is based on California Commercial Code, and they can not prove i'm a business, are there legal grounds for dismissal? Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search