California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
pre-nuptial
does a pre-nuptial need to be
filed in a court of law, in order to
be legal? Or are the signatures
of both parties, plus a Notary
stamp, all that is needed to make
it legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Arkady Itkin |
Re: pre-nuptial A pre-marital agreement does not need to be filed anywhere. It's a contract between the parties. There are certain formalities that need to be followed or otherwise the agreement will be unenforceable. At the very least, you should have one or two unbiased witnesses to signing, and the signatures should be notarized. Most importantly, each party should certify that he/she had an opportunity to consult with independent counsel prior to executing the agreement. Also, certain property/rights cannot be waived, even by pre-marital agreement (for example, child support due).
There is more to pre-marital agreement than might seem to the unarmed eye, so please consult an experienced attorney in your area.
Thanks.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10405
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


