California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
4/04/02, 12:59 pm

Legal Question


Publishing Sex Offender Name

A complaint expressing outrage that a registered sex offender goes into people's homes through his employment with Terminix was sent to me for posting on my web site, ''Terminix - Consumer Alert!'' at http://www.syix.com/emu. According to the complainant, Terminix admits to not doing background checks on their employees; and she provided the link to that state's on-line sex offender registry and the employee's name for people to look up the information for themselves.

The North Carolina ''Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry'' at http://sbi.jus.state.nc.us/DOJHAHT/SOR/Default.htm states, ''Anyone who uses this information to commit a criminal act against another person is subject to criminal prosecution.'' If I post the lady's complaint with its information on my web site, would I be committing a criminal act? Is it legal to publish the name of a sex offender taken from a state's on-line sex offender registry onto another web site? I agree with the complainant that customers should be forewarned to protect themselves and their families; but I am afraid I would be opening myself up to a third lawsuit from this company, a lawsuit from one of its employees, or criminal prosecution from North Carolina.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search