Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

I record a video in a public place and post it on YouTube, not commercially, not for direct financial gain (although yes, I could benefit indirectly from just popularity if the video becomes famous). The people are not deliberately portrayed in a negative way, and the scenes are not altered to make things appear differently than they are. The people are identifiable to someone who knows them, although I do not explicitly identify them.

I'm interested in knowing what sort of risks I'm getting into with regards to things like libel, slander, "violation of privacy" (if that's a legal thing), just from posting such a video. Obviously, millions of such videos are posted every day on YouTube, I don't know how many of them end up with such a problem, my perception is that the courts are not clogged by such cases, but I don't really know.

Situation 1:

A public parade/carnival/event on a public street. I make a non-commercial documentary video about it, as a hobby, and post on YouTube.

Any risk from: People who happen to be fellow spectators in the crowd? People who are in the parade? Street vendors added to my video as background "color"?

Situation 2:

I make a video strolling the busy street of a large city, taking in the whole scene, crowds, traffic, panhandlers, street vendors, storefronts, etc. During part of the video I hop onto a public bus then hop off and continue the walk. The camera is small and generally not noticeable and/or is hidden, so it is not obvious to anyone that I am doing it. I post it on YouTube for all to see.

Situation 3:

I post a video on YouTube of a homeless person sleeping on the street. He is indeed on a public street, with no expectation of privacy. However, by posting a video of him in that situation on YouTube, am I at any risk for portraying him in that accurate, yet unflattering position, drawing attention to his plight? Similarly for anyone being portrayed in an accurate yet unflattering light, for example a drunk passed out on the street?

Asked on 7/02/13, 11:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The pros get releases. If you are using a hidden camera, I think you are going to be asking for trouble sooner or later.

Read more
Answered on 7/03/13, 3:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now