California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
8/03/08, 2:44 am

Legal Question


Recourse against a dishonest lawyer and the best way to find a new lawyer.

Hi,

I'm in a tenuous legal relationship

and I need your advice. About a year

ago, I was defrauded of lots of money

by a rogue partner that stole many of

my cars and vandalized my property

to the extent that he is now facing

criminal proceedings on several

felonious counts. I hired a lawyer to

help me recover some of the

thousands that I lost through a

lengthy civil proceeding that has now

spanned almost three years. This

lawyer has done a horrible job at

representing me, to the point where

I've actually questioned his loyalty.

Despite being paid handsomely over

the past years, he rarely returns my

calls, he offers inconsistent advice,

and has even failed to alert me of

important court dates and relevant

proceedings. His delinquency has

nearly cost me $50K by failing to

respond to messages pertaining to

the release of a vehicle -- I only

heard about this through opposing

counsel!

At this point, I've realized that I need

to find a new lawyer. I need your

advice on how I can find a credible,

responsible, and committed lawyer. I

am also wondering what recourse

against my current lawyer.

Thanks for your time!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search