Re: Service of complaint after 60 days of filing (Rule 201.7)
Yes you must answer or file a motion or you will be defaulted. The late service, (if it is late, they may have obtained an extension)will not be a good defense most likely.
JOEL SELIK
Attorney at Law
www.TheJuryProject.com
"bringing issues into Focus"
Producing Focus Groups for Attorneys
800-894-2889
760-479-1515
702-243-1930
Licensed to Practice Law in California and Nevada
B.A. Industrial Psychology, B.S. Human Communications
CA Real Estate Broker, CA Superior Court Judge Pro Tem, Mediator/Arbitrator
CONCENTRATING IN ELDER ABUSE, LITIGATION AND COLLECTIONS
Personal Injury, Contracts, Tax Matters, Business,
Malpractice, Appeals, Elder Neglect/Abuse/Nursing Home Malpractice
Real Estate, and Other Legal Matters
This is just general information. No representations are made and no attorney client relationship is established by this communication. In most matters there are strict time limitations within which actions may be taken or your rights will be compromised. We are not taking any action on your matter and will not be considered your attorney or tax representative until both you and we have signed a fee agreement.
We, therefore will take no action on your behalf unless a written retainer agreement is signed. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you do not retain SELIKLAW, you should immediately seek the services of another attorney or other advisor.