California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Our son is in jail, we have had his dog for 15 months, we want to legally take her from him, so he cant get her back, how do we do this? what kind of attorney do we get?
Our son is in jail, we have had his dog for 15 months, we want to legally take her from him, so he cant get her back, how do we do this? what kind of attorney do we get?
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
All pets are considered real property. I do not know if there is any formal method to get the dog. You could call the local SPCA and see if they know anything. Othrewise, write to your son, tell him that unless he can flind a home within 60 days for the dog you will consilder it abandoned proprety [if he lived with the dog where he had to pay rent to you, then you could follow the normal procedures for abandoned tenant property]. Since the dog is over 15 months old, it is really too old to place with a pet store or be able to sell it to anyone, so if you tell your son that you are treatling it as propety that was abandoned by its owner and it has no value so does not need to be auctioned off and that you are doing him a favor to keep the dog [you might want to lie and say you are sending the dog to a relative so when he gets out he does not come to your house to try to get the dog back]. If when he gets out of jail he tries to sue you, a judge wlill probably declide in your favor and certainly could find that the dog has little or no value and award only that amount to him. Since it is considered personal and not real property, specific performance is not required so all he can get is money and not the return of the dog. not spell checked. |
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
My initial opinion is that dogs are not real property they are chattels and a bailement was created for which you may request a fee. If the fee is not paid then you may obtain title. However for an opinion that may be relied upon, then some legal research needs to be done. I could do so for a nominal fee. Contact me directly. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
► I just filled a suit against a Property management company that hired me to provide...
► I recently won a civil lawsuit against and individual, for $6500 for stuff he stole...
► If a credit company have hired a attorney which now has a judgment against me now...
► Does a Legal Technician in California need an LDA license?
► Is it legal for a creditor to wipe your checking acct out without notifying you?...
► If someone I know is falsely accused and convicted because they signed a...
► We have the following issues with respect to a property we purchased. In the...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press