California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/10/09, 5:22 pm

Legal Question


If a store changes its return policy, is it legal for the change to be retroactive, affecting purchases made prior to the change, when a different policy was in effect?

As an example: I purchased some items from a store that had a "100% satisfaction" return policy, which clearly states on the back of the receipt that a return can be at any time if you are unsatisfied with an item for any reason, and that with a receipt, you are entitled to a full refund. After that purchase was made, the store changed their policy, and now returns can only be made within 60 days, and they will only give store credit.

Basically I just want to know if they are obligated to uphold the policy that was in effect at the time of purchase. Or if they can legally change the terms of what is essentially a contract, after if was entered into?

Thanks for your help, Jennie.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search