California  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/03/13, 6:38 pm

Hello I want to sue my exboyfriend, but he doesn't have any money. His parent however have a business. Can I sue that business or his parents?

5 Answers


Answered on: 6/03/13, 6:46 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Only if they are legally liable for something they did that gives you grounds to sue them.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/03/13, 7:09 pm by Kelvin Green

You can't sue them because they have money and related. As MR Nelson so aptly points out they must be liable. Having a deadbeat son is not a cause of action.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/03/13, 8:40 pm by Edward Hoffman

You can only sue them for their own actions. Unless their son is still a minor, they are not liable for his actions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/03/13, 8:55 pm by John Laurie

One can only be sued if there is some liability on their part.Unless the parents are in some way liable for some actions taken on their part they are not responsible unless their son was a minor at the time he caused the damages to you. The it may be possible to hold them responsible.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/03/13, 9:04 pm by Anthony Roach

Not unless they are vicariously liable for something he did.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search