California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
2/27/07, 8:58 pm

Legal Question


Being sued by bail bondsman

I gave a bail bondsman a check written in the amount of $500.00. I told him not to cash it as the account is on hold due to my divorce and in a couple of day's he would be paid in cash the $500.00 when the person I bailed out of jail got his finances in order and such. He had no problem with that. When my friend was released from jail, he and the bail bondsman spoke, filled out necessary paperwork etc.. the bail bondsman said '' what do you want to do about the $500.00, you know she just gave me a worthless check ?''. They agreed on him paying the money.

Well, he cashed it the very next day. He also sent me into the D.A. for writing a worthless check and I have to go to check class. I paid the $500.00 ( through the D.A.) I just got served. He's suing me for late fee's and interest, an extra $1645.98.. Can he do this? am I responsible for paying that much money? Thank You for your time


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search