California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
i believe i am being sued without cause
some 6 years ago, I was involved in litigation. At one point the trial case was sent to private judge judge to recommend wether case was barred by collateral estoppel and/or res judicata. All 3 parties each paid ($1,000.00 . later i was told a referree cant decide dispositive issues.My att faied to object. Judgement entered against me and included a provision '' the referree is entitled to his reasonable compensation as itemized in the report and any further costs would be subject to later re-apportionment to the parties''. No one ever got an additional order for fees. My attorney or I did not sign any contract. My attorney was sent a bill that an additional $2,000.00 was due.He did not pay the bill and a small claims action was filed against him which was later dismissed. a collection attorney sent me a bill which i denied and is now trying to sue me in small claims for ''open book'' account. I have not been served yet but I know the lawsuit is filed against me. Someone advised me that I cannot be sued outside that case because there was a provision in the former civil suit for further payment to the referree. Is this true? What is going on here? Am I being sued maliciously?


