California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/07/00, 1:13 am

Legal Question


Unrequested Services by Vetrinarian

My equine vetrinarian performed $800+ worth of routing services on my three horses without my consent or prior knowledge. When I boarded my horses in a public stable the vet would come every three months during a "clinic" and administer vaccinations, etc. When I moved to a private facility a year and a half ago I made it clear that I wished to be present whenever she serviced my horses and that I would call her for an appointment when the horses needed services. She indicated that this should be every six months. Three times I have called the vet out and she has performed services. Last week however, I arrived at my barn to find a bill and some very groggy (over medicated in my opinion) horses. Although it had been six months since the last vaccinations, I was making other arrangements and was not goint to use a vet for their shots and such. Since she did not contact me prior to servicing the animals to find out what I wanted to do (or even if the horses had already been vaccinated) am I liable for this bill?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search