California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
9/19/05, 11:44 pm

Legal Question


Veterinarian killed healthy cat with yearly vaccine

I took my 3 yr old cat to vet for yearly shots. My cat never goes outside. Cat also receives monthly asthma shot. Regular vet retired in June 2005. This is the vet who took over the practice. I expressed to the new vet that the old vet never gave my cat both the asthma shot and any other shots at the same time. Old vet said it would hurt the cat. The new vet disregarded this. He gave my cat all yearly shots and asthma shot at one time. 24 hours later my cat was dead. My daughter has scholiosis and an enlarged kidney. It was her cat. The cat died next to her bed and she found it.

Recently Orange County, CA vs. Marc Bluestone case was settled for $39K for his pet's situation.

The AVMA says we spend $11,500 on each of our domestic pets in their life time.

I sent a certified demand letter to the vet for a payment of $10K for 'loss of companionship, emotional distress and possible negligence''. He did not respond. I will gladly show you a copy of the letter upon request.

Can you recommend a lawyer that can help me follow through with this suit?

I appreciate your help in this matter.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search