California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Will a collection agency settle with me after 6 years which is now a judgement
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Herb Fox |
There is certainly no harm in asking. You should consider other options, though, such as bankruptcy if you are under water on other obligations, etc. Another factor is how old the judgment is - if it is very recent, you still might be able to set it aside and contest the debt. And don't forget that you might owe more than you think - the judgment has been earning 10 per cent simple interest since it was entered, and will continue to do so for 10 years and, if renewed, even longer. You should consult with an attorney before you make a decision, and perhaps have that attorney negotiate on your behalf. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


