California  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
9/18/03, 5:45 pm

Legal Question


72 hour mental pscho hold period legal perameters

we have an unstable neighbor. Last month he said I was killing him. He said next he should take a gun to his head and kill himself. With the last statement I walked in the house. Another neighbor told me next time call the police, tell them ,ask for a 72 hour pscho/mental hold. In Calif. what are the legal parameters for a 72 hour hold? Is there anything else I would be wise to be aware of? This man is like a Dr. Jeckl & Hyde. He stuck a video camera pointing in my 10 year old daughters room. The police did come out & chatted with him. He denied the camera. He has a documented in-patient record at St. Helena Hospital for drug & alcohal abuse. This was confirmed by the shrink down the street. We just had new windows put in our home. My 10 year old wanted us to by the windows with 2 locks on them because she said maybe he wouldn't be able to get her. thank you in advance for your pointers. We need to protect our children while protecting others.

Thank you,

Mom

707-644-6067


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search