California  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
10/18/11, 11:34 am

Legal Question


I went to my doctor's office yesterday to make arrangements to review my medical file. The person at the front desk didn't know the procedure so she went and checked. When she returned, she told me that the doctor said I cannot look at my medical records -- I can request lab reports and the nurse will get me copies or I can list the reports I already have at home and the office will copy what I don't have in my possession or I can pay $25 for a copy of my file. No matter what I said, she was emphatic that the doctor won't let me see my records under any circumstances.

I thought under both California law and the HIPAA Privacy Rule, a patient has the right to inspect his/her medical records. Is this correct? What steps can I take to look over my records? Or, if must pay the $25, how can I be assured that I am getting a copy of everything?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search