California | Health Care Law
Legal Question
Incompetency
My Mother has alzheimers - how do I have her declared incompetent so I can arrange an assisted living environment for her safety and I can handle her finances for her?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
Re: Incompetency If there's no power of attorney(s) or living trust in place, you may need to file for a conservatorship of the person (health care decisions) and estate (financial decisions). It's filed with the court, which then sends an investigator to verify her condition, and the court can then appoint you conservator at a hearing after close relatives have received notice. If there's an urgent need, you can petition the court to be appointed within 5 days on a temporary basis. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
GITTLER & BRADFORD
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-29
Search Questions and Answers


