California | Health Care Law
Legal Question
Malpractice
How long do you have to file a malpractice suit
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerold M. Gorski |
Re: Malpractice California has various statutes of limitation, including on written contracts (generally a 4 year statute of limitations), oral contracts (generally a 2 year statute of limitations), etc.
However, no one should rely on an answer on LawGuru as legal advice, because, among other things, it depends on all the circumstances. Things such as and among others: was it medical or legal malpractice; was the malpractice a single incident or did it occur over time; do you have other claims that might expire sooner; does the legal defense of laches apply if you wait longer to file suit; etc. If legal malpractice: federal or state; civil or criminal; transaction or litigation; etc.
I know the question may seem simple, but it truly depends on many factors and it would be unwise for any attorney to tell you that you had X amount of time without knowing more. Thus, pursue your rights without delay. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10408
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
GITTLER & BRADFORD
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-29
Barron Law Corporation
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-17
Search Questions and Answers


