California  |  Health Care Law

question bubble
1/04/10, 5:08 pm

Legal Question


I obtained an individual health insurance plan on 7/1/09. On 7/4/09 I went to a PCP for a routine check up and was in good health. On about 8/12/09 I had an appointment with the same PCP for flu like symptoms and had some basic blood tests. Another 2 weeks had passed and my PCP said my blood tests were normal and my symptoms were not cleared so I had a lower GI tract xray and the xray came back normal. I was starting to experience stomach pains so I made an appt. on Sept 9th with a gastrointestinal specialist. I was diagnosed with IBS. Sept 28th I went to the ER for severe stomach pains they diagnosed me with Chrons Disease..As of today I received a letter from my Health Care Provider that they have suspended my insurance coverage until they investigate my claims due to me having a pre-existing condition and they want me to write them a letter. My question is should I break down every appointment with them in the letter. I have never been treated, diagnosed or ever had taken a prescription that had any relation to Chron's disease until Sept. 28th the day I was diagnosed. I cannot believe they covered all my claims up until I was diagnosed with Chron's then they would not process anymore claims. I met my deductible and made monthly payments. Is there any laws that I can write in my response letter to protect me? Any comments would be greatly appreciated. This suspension of coverage is more stress which is making my illness worse.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search