California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
3/19/03, 6:21 pm

Legal Question


Applying for Citizenship

Hello

I'm 28 years old male. I had green card for almost 8 years.

I am about to apply for citizenship but I am unclear about qualifications on Selective Service and continue of residency.

First, I didn't register the SS (selective service) Is this important when you apply for the citizenship? I'm too old to register. What do I do?

Second, I made a long trip to my native country. I spend 10 months there last year and came back to U.S. Is this going to disrupt my continue of residency? If it disrupts my continue of residency, do I have to wait another 5 years to apply for the citizenship?

Third, is it possible to view my records in INS office? I want to make sure that my application answers match my records. I heard that if information doensn't match correctly INS will turn down my application.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search