California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
1/12/10, 6:11 am

Legal Question


I have an approved Labor certification with my employer before. I never worked for him because my work permit hasn't arrived yet. Last year he was arrested for visa fraud, sentenced, and jailed. I lost $10,000 to him in the course of 7 years starting in the 2001 245i relief. Can I successfully file for a U visa based on the charges of extortion and perjury? I received a documented verbal threat, as well as a written threat that if I will not pay then I will be dropped from the list of people to be petitioned for green card and be out of status. He knows all along that he is conducting a scam.

I suffered depression and withdrawal symptoms, and lost weight, lost sleep after learning that he was a fraud. I went to a psychiatrist to ask for help which was documented but I only went there once coz I cannot afford the $150 fee per session.

I have all my receipts showing all the evidences and the amount that he defrauded me of.

Slavery, forced labor, and Involuntary servitude mirrors the extortion and blackmail charge of the U visa because the labor is tantamount to the money as a payment. The only difference is the form. The money that I paid came from my labor, from me working.

Do I have a high chance of being approved for a U Visa?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search