California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
My boyfriend came to the US from Russia with a visa(not sure what kind) at the age of 6. They(his family) applied for permanent residence after the 2 years expired and their papers have been pending for nearly 17 years. He is now 23 and is no longer considered in his parent's case. When he checks online for his residency status, it is the level before resident with his status pending. He cannot obtain a real job or leave the country for vacation. Is this 17 year pending status usual for these kinds of cases? Is marrying me(a US citizen) or filing for asylum his only options?


