California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/17/03, 2:03 am

Legal Question


Canadian Actor would like to get a visa. How?

-Canadian citizen. Film & Theatre degree. I am currently living in the United States. Need work permit in the entertainment industry. Not famous. I don't think I qualify for an O or P visa. What can I do to get a work permit? Been here for three years. Lived in the US for five years many years ago, is there something that could help me with that? My grandfather fought with the Americans in WWII and was decorated. However he died (not during the war) before he could file for citizenship. Would there be anything that could be helped from this?

-I have read this answer from the website:

http://www.cyrusmehta.com/News_Cyrus.asp?news_id=789&intPage=80

b. Are There Any Other Ways To Expedite Process If RIR Is Not Possible? Physical therapists and professional nurses have been exempted from rigorous labor certification requirements. Labor certifications for college and university teachers and performing artists can also be expedited through a process known as a “Special Handling.”

Would the above apply to me at all?

Thank you--name removed--much for your time to answer my question.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search