California | Immigration Law
9/02/09, 1:54 am
Legal Question
how do we change my wifes last name to my last name? what forms do we need to file for this?
how do we change my wifes last name to my last name? what forms do we need to file for this?
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
Is this question really in Immigration Law? What application is your wife applying for? If she's trying to get her green card, then usually at the end of the interview, the officer will ask the applicant what name she would like to use on her card. At that time she can specify what name she prefers and the green card will be produced with that name.
In non-immigration situations in the U.S., a wife who wants to use her husband's name just goes about using it in filling out her name in her daily life. There’s no form needed.
If you’re talking about a person who wants to change their name completely and not because of marriage, then that has to be done in civil court under California law, which is not an immigration matter.
Larry L. Doan
www.GuruImmigration.com http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog) |
|
Read More Answered By: Alice Yardum-Hunter |
If you're asking in the immigration context, I can tell you it's very possible to do this at the green card stage or at naturalization, as a result of which her green card or naturalization certificate would have the new last name. If she has a green card but not citizenship yet, she could also file an I-90 form with the marriage certificate to get her green card in your last name.
Let me know if I can help by calling me at 818 609 1953, writing me at alice@yardum-hunter.com or visiting me at http://www.yardum-hunter.com. |
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
► This is my question.... I'm canadian citizen , i got sponsored for a L1A visa in...
► I am working for a non-profit organization in California on H-1 visa. Due to lack of...
► My question is both an immigration question as well as a marriage question. My...
► The US citizen wife find out her husband have a first wife and he want to devorce...
► My husband is an immagrant and was arrested for assult for first time but did not...
► If someone has been deported is there a certain time frame that they have to wait in...
► If an immigrant goes to speak with a lawyer and they are not supposed to be here...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press