California | Immigration Law
11/10/09, 10:21 pm
Legal Question
can I become a citizen if I have a dui from 2004 and a public intoxication ticket in 2008?
can I become a citizen if I have a dui from 2004 and a public intoxication ticket in 2008?
|
Read More Answered By: Jennifer Brill |
You may, if you are otherwise eligible, but you must have been completely finished with any terms of probation, etc. The USCIS may determine in their discretion that you don't have Good Moral Character. I would fully consult with an immigration attorney before applying for citizenship to make certain that you cover all bases. |
|
Read More Answered By: Carlos Batara |
DUI's can be tricky.
It seems you might qualify for citizenship. I would need to know a little more about your DUI and your public intoxication ticket.
For example, was your DUI a simple DUI? Or was it a more serious DUI?
What was your sentence? Did you complete all terms of your sentence - and if you were placed on probation, did you complete that?
There may be a few other issues here. Whenever immigration clients have a potential problem, it's always in their best interests to discuss the matter with an immigration attorney before moving forward.
If you would like to discuss your situation in more detail, you can contact me via email at carlos@bataralaw. My website is www.bataraimmigrationlaw.com, and you can fill out a consultation form there if you prefer. If you live in Southern California, I have various office locations to help serve you. (San Diego, Riverside, and San Bernardino.)
Whatever you choose to do, good luck
There are several benefits you gain by becoming a citizen, so if you're going to go for it, be sure you handle your case carefully.
|
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
► I m in my cittizen process (waiting for my intewrview) ,my children are waiting for...
► My husband and I married on April 16 of this year, and I recieved my greencard past...
► Can I as a US citizen marry an H4 immigrant? How will this affect our legal...
► My Mom has been in the US Illegaly for thirty years i am twenty four years old and...
► Mi nombre es Ana. Mi pregunta es de que mi papa y mi mama metieron aplicacion por...
► I am Egyptian and I am studying in USA on JV1 Visa can my friend sponsor me after my...
► We have an employee arrested 2 times for dui and has been in the county since 1991...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press