Hello:
A person can APPLY to remove the conditions without their spouse's consent (waiver), without a divorce. However, the divorce must be finalized before the removal of conditions is actually granted. In other words, the application process can get started, but proof of divorce must be provided before the conditions can be removed.
Alternatively, if a divorce is not finalized, a person can self-petition (without their spouse's consent) to remove conditions if the US citizen or Legal Permanent Resident spouse has abused the spouse with the conditional green card. This petition requires certain evidence, which can be complex. The help of an attorney is advisable in this situation.
Otherwise, if the person is still legally married, the husband is not deceased, and there is no abuse, then the husband and wife need to jointly file to remove the conditions.
To discuss your specific case further, please feel free to call me at 714 288 0610 or email me at ellaine@eloretolaw.com. Our office offers a FREE initial consultation and payment plans.
Note: The above response is provided for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration.