California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
4/20/09, 3:57 am

Legal Question


Derivative Asylum - Relationship

I have a question, rather a statement that I'd like to clarify. It's from the instructions to Form I-730 (derivative asylum) and it reads as follows from page 1, section 1(a) ''Who May File Derivative Asylum?'':

''If you are a principle asylee;

The relationship between you and your relative must have existed on the date you were granted asylum in the United States and must continue to exist.''

So, for example: if the principle asylee married his/her spouse on that date (Jan 10th), according to the County Recorder's Office, and his/her asylum granted date was Jan 10th, too, then will that relationship qualify his/her spouse to apply for derivative asylum status in the U.S.?

Thank you!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search