California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/16/08, 11:17 pm

Legal Question


Detained at the U.S./Mexico border

Basic outline of the story is got detained at the border while driving a car with an illegal immigrant hidden inside. Was handcuffed and detained and fingerprinted then put in a holding cell for a few hours. I gave a statement of what happened and was released hours later. They told me I was going to get a felony for smuggling an illegal alilen...however I was never read miranda rights so I call it detained and not arrested, and never had any paperwork saying I was charged or any type of court. I assume they were using scare tactics on me to get a point across. So basically my question is can someone receive a felony for something without being charged formally and going to court about it


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search